ROBERTSON FAMILY HISTORY - James of Renfrew

Sampson Marshall
Home
James Robertson
Sir John Robertson
James Robertson Family Tree
Robertson Links

Sampson Marshall
 
This article was written by D'Arcy Marshall, a descendent of Brisbane Robertson and Caroline Jessie Marshall. 
Brisbane and Caroline's daughter Edith Leichardt Robertson, married her cousin Robert Hastings Hotspur Marshall, who was also a grandson of Sampson and Mary Ann. D'Arcy is descended from this family.

ROYAL NAVY DAYS

 

Sampson was the second youngest of thirteen children. He was also the second of Roberts children to be named Sampson. The first was born in 1788 and lived for only seven weeks.

 

It was not surprising that Sampson was to join the Royal Navy. His older brother John was already serving and was to reach the rank of Commander..

 

A "Certificate of Service" issued by the Admiralty on 17th June 1834 shows that Sampson "entered His Majesty's Service on the 15th.May 1800". He was just over 9 years of age at the time and joined as a Volunteer 1st Class under the sponsorship of Peter McKellar, Commander of the ship "Renommee". This ship of 38 guns had been captured from the French in 1796.

 

He was Captains Clerk on an expedition to Egypt, then promoted on 23rd.October 1801 to the rank of Midshipman. He was then just 10 years of age. The expedition lasted until 12th April 1802 at which time he was discharged. as appears to have been the custom at the end of a tour of duty.

 

He reinlisted as Volunteer 1st.Class, firstly on the "Childers" in Portsmouth, then on the "Princess" in Liverpool. These tours of duty lasted until 18th October 1807. and it was during this period that he received permanent promotion to Midshipman on 1st October 1803, then to Master Mate on 1st.Jan.1806. Master Mate, is the equivalent rank to-day of Sub-Lieutenant, and he was still only 14 yrs.of age.

 

For a short while he was Supernumary on the "Royal William" under Admiral George Montagu at Spithead ' before joining the "Thalia" as Midshipman on 4th.November 1807 on duty in the channel, then on to Hudson's Bay.

 

On 22nd. November 1808 he joined the "Atlas" under Rear Admiral Purvis (a name carried on by a number of later Marshalls) as Midshipman and as Master Mate, and which was on duty at Cadiz until 14th.March 1810. He then served for 17 months as acting Lieutenant on the "Zealous" before joining the "Gannett" as Master Mate in the channel.

 

He finally gained his commission as Lieutenant, at the minimum age permissible of 21 years, on 3rd.February 1812. He was posted to H.M.S. "Barham" the same day and remained until 24th July 1812.

 

His final shipboard posting was on 9th January 1813 when he joined H.M.S, "Diadem". The ship didn't sail immediately which allowed Sampson to return home in order to marry Mary Ann King at the Hatherleigh Parish Church on 18th January 1813.

 

The newlyweds didn't have much time together as England and America were at war  (War of 1812). He rejoined the "Diadem" and sailed to join the fleet at its base at Halifax, Nova Scotia.

 

On the 11th September 1814 the fleet entered the mouth of the Potapsco River and laid siege to Baltimore.  With 40000 inhabitants, Baltimore was the third largest city in America at the time. Because ships drawing 16 feet couldn't approach closer than 5 miles it was decided to land troops and seamen under General Ross and march on the city.

 

On 12th September, Sampson, who was to act for the artillery bombardment at the Battle of North Point, with 40 small arms men under his command went ashore with the Naval Brigade under Captain Crofton R.N. serving with the Army under General Ross. They were about halfway to the city when General Ross was knocked off his white horse and killed by a bullet through his right arm and into his chest. It was the same day that Sampson was badly injured when hit in the right leg by a musket ball.

 

During the day and evening of the 13th, the British bomb-ships stayed for the most part out of range of the small cannon of the Fort, and easily lobbed some 1800 bombs into and around the enclosure.   The firing ceased around one o'clock in the morning of the 14th. when the British realised just how well prepared Baltimore actually was and they commenced re-embarking their troops from North Point during the night.   Five days later Admiral Cochrane sailed his fleet back to Halifax.

 

The naval bombardment referred to above features in the American National Anthem, written by Francis Scott Key.  Key was aboard "Minden", a cartel ship on which he had gone to interview Admiral Cochrane about the release of a prisoner.  Although he achieved his mission, the British kept him aboard until after the attack was over. After watching the British mortar shells and rockets exploding over Fort McHenry, and the Forts hugh flag still flying, he was inspired to write "The Star-Spangled Banner", which he put to the eighteenth century British drinking song "To Anacreon in Heaven".

 

On arrival in Halifax, Sampson entered the naval hospital.  He was repatriated back to England and transferred to the Plymouth hospital after a report from Halifax stated  "Gunshot in the right leg.  Totally disabled at present, a change of climate would do him good".

 

He was granted extended leave to recover, but progress was extremely slow.  On 6th July 1815 his wife wrote to the Secretary of the Admiralty asking for an examination for a wound pension. This was agreed and three months later a report from the College of Surgeons stated  "Wounds equally prejudicial to bodily exertion as to the loss of a limb".  When it was backed up three weeks later by a report from the Council Offices of the Prince Regent that  "Musket ball passing through the right leg  totally deprived him of its use". he was granted a pension of 5/- per diem from 4th November 1815. He received this pension for life.

 

Very little is known of the next few years, except that he returned home to Hatherleigh. He most likely became a farmer because in a later testimony in Australia before a commission investigating the free immigrant scheme he stated  "having for some time been connected with agricultural matters...." 

When he was finally fit enough to assume some shore duties, he returned to Portsmouth, and on 27th April 1831 was appointed Warden of Portsmouth Dockyard - a position he held until sailing to Australia in 1834. Accommodation was provided for him and his family in the Dockyard.

 

In 1834 Sampson was granted three years leave of absence an half pay by the Naval Board with the proviso that he did not enter into the service of any foreign Prince or State, and he must inform their Lordships' secretary of any change of address.

 

NOTE

The "Diadem" was a 3rd. Rate (64 cannon) of 1869 tons, built at Chatham Dockyard . She was ordered on 5th February 1777, her keel was laid on 2nd. November 1778, and she was launched on 19th December 1782.  Primarily a Frigate, she spent some time from May 1798 to 1799 as a troopship, and again in 1810. She was hulked in 1815 and broken up in 1832.

 

 

FAMILY MIGRATES TO AUSTRALIA

 

With his wife and 6 of their remaining 7 children (Richard Purvis stayed behind until 1837) he left London on 10th July 1834 aboard the "David Scott" arriving in Sydney, Australia on 25th October 1834. Also on board was his brother-in law, Richard King with his wife and their 5 children.

 

The "David Scott" was a "Splendid Teak-Built Ship" of 773 Tons Register under the command of Captain Samuel Owen. It carried merchandise and in addition to 18 First Class passengers, were 347 Bounty passengers (mostly female). Sampson had been recommended for, and had accepted, the post of Superintendent of the Bounty immigrants. This was an honorary position, although the Emigration Committee decided later that future Superintendents were to receive 50 Pounds for their duties.

 

The Assisted Immigrants seem to have been quite a handful for Sampson, which coupled with a complete lack of discipline on the part of the crew, made it an eventful voyage. On reaching Sydney he made a blistering report to Governor Sir Richard Bourke on the morality of the women and of the crew.

 

A NEW LAND - A NEW LIFE

 

Shortly after their arrival the family settled in the Maitland district. Sampson joined the pastoral industry by renting the 2000 acre property "Rosebrook", near Maitland, from Lieutenant James Reed R.N.. Sampson never owned "Rosebrook".

 

Sampson wasted no time in acquiring his own land. Just days after arriving in Sydney he wrote requesting purchase of a block of 734 acres at Jerrys Plains. County of Hunter, Parish of Wambo.  This was approved on 13th December 1834  and granted on 20th April 1835 at 6/- per acre. Annual rent was one peppercorn.  The property was bounded on the west by James Robertsons property "Strowan",  and on the North across the Hunter River by James Robertsons property "Plashett".  There is no way Sampson could have seen the land beforehand so he must have been advised by friends.

 

Vis:-

In 1833 James Robertsons third son John Robertson, (later Sir John Robertson K.C.M.G.) worked his passage to England on the "Sovereign" under Captain McKellar and inspected the Dockyard at Portsmouth. (Aust.Dict.of Biography Vol 6).  Sampson was the warden of the Dockyard at this time.

 

It seems almost certain that the two families were friends in England as it was only months after John Robertsons visit to the Portsmouth Dockyard that Sampson with his family migrated to Australia and acquired land bordering "Plashett" and "Strowan"  where James Robertsons family lived.

 

James Robertsons second son Brisbane Robertson was later to marry Sampsons eldest daughter Caroline Marshall at "Plashett". This was one of many,many,many marriages between the Marshall, Robertson, Rodd, and Blaxland families to take place over the next half century or more.

 

Sampson was to acquire at least three other areas of land at Jerrys Plains, and Wollombi Brook, At the same time, probably late in 1836, he squatted on land in the Gwydir District of the Liverpool Plains. This land, which he called "Boolooroo" was 62000 acres and was located about 5-6 miles north east of present day Moree. This was outside land at the time, but when the authorities decided to acknowledge occupancy rights by lease in 1837, he applied for, and received, a depasturing licence on 11th.September 1837. He held this land until his death.

 

Sampson passed away on "Rosebrook"  on 17th October 1842. It was here that he had lived since arriving in Australia only eight years earlier.   Sampsons burial place is unknown however it seems probable that it is on "Rosebrook".

 

Sampsons will was dated at Hatherleigh on 6th April 1820 and was proved in London on 18th October 1843.

Caroline was baptised on 31th March 1820 at Hatherleigh, Devon, England, and attended school in Caen, France, She later migrated with her parents from Gravesend, England on the "David Scott" arriving in Sydney on the 25th October 1834. The family settled at "Rosebrook" near Lochinvar NSW. Two years after her father's death at "Rosebrook" in 1842 Caroline married Brisbane Robertson at the Robertson family property at "Plashett" near Jerrys Plains, NSW. After the birth of her daughter, Edith Leichhardt at "Plashett" in 1845 Caroline moved to Scone, where Brisbane and his brother John, (later Sir John) had purchased a property called "Yarrandi". This purchase settled in late 1846.

 

After the death of her husband, Brisbane, at the gold fields at The Louisa Creek (now Hargraves) near Mudgee in July 1853, Caroline moved with her small children and settled amongst her three brothers, Purvis, Sampson, and Harry, at Goondiwindi Qld. It appears Caroline and her children remained in the Goondiwindi district where she obtained employment as a governess until the early 1870s when they moved to Ashford NSW.

 

Caroline’s death certificate shows that she died at Ashford on 14th September 1889 after suffering a tumour for fifteen months. She was buried near Ashford on the 15th September 1889.

 

It was in July 1997 that Caroline’s Great Great Grandson D'Arcy and his wife Lorna finally located the grave from the description given by an old timer in the area  '100 yards up the hill from the double gates on "Edgerton" between the Box tree and some Ironbarks - there is a row of stones marking the site'.   Caroline may have aided the searchers in locating the grave site as they initially missed it and continued for a short distance before a rock concealed by grass on the track abruptly halted their progress. Fortunately the only damage done was to the drivers pride.    The GPS places the graves at  29.18.67S.    151.07.91E.  

                                  

Note.

"Edgerton" was a property of some 94000 acres just a few miles east of Ashford, NSW owned by Carolines daughter Edith Leichhardt, and her husband Robert Hastings Hotspur Marshall.    "Frazers Creek"  was a large property adjoining "Edgerton", and north of Ashford owned by Carolines son Sampson Marshall Ripley Robertson.

web.cjrobertsondeath.jpg
Caroline Jessie Marshall

Dear Mother and Grandmother

Caroline Robertson

Who departed this life Sep 14, 1889

Aged 69 years

 

Call not back the dear departed

Anchored safe where storms are o’er,

In the borderland we left her

Soon to meet and part no more.

Far beyond this world of changes

Far beyond this world of care,

We shall meet our missing loved one

In our Father’s mansion fair.

  

At Rest

 

 

 

CAROLINE MARSHALL

 

Caroline Marshall was baptised on 31th March 1820 at Hatherleigh, Devon, England, and attended school in Caen, France, She was the daughter of Sampson Marshall and Mary Ann King. She migrated with her parents from Gravesend, England on the "David Scott" arriving in Sydney on the 25th October 1834. The family settled at "Rosebrook" near Lochinvar NSW.

 

Two years after her fathers death at "Rosebrook" in 1842 Caroline married Brisbane Robertson at the Robertson family property at "Plashett" near Jerrys Plains, NSW. After the birth of her daughter, Edith Leichhardt at "Plashett" in 1845 Caroline moved to Scone, where Brisbane and his brother John, (later Sir John) had purchased a property called "Yarrandi". This purchase settled in late 1846.

 

After the death of her husband, Brisbane, at the gold fields at The Louisa Creek (now Hargraves) near Mudgee in July 1853, Caroline moved with her small children and settled amongst her three brothers, Purvis, Sampson, and Harry, at Goondiwindi Qld. It appears Caroline and her children remained in the Goondiwindi district where she obtained employment as a governess until the early 1870s when they moved to Ashford NSW.

 

Caroline’s death certificate shows that she died at Ashford on 14th September 1889 after suffering a tumour for fifteen months. She was buried near Ashford on the 15th September 1889.

 

It was in July 1997 that Caroline’s Great Great Grandson D'Arcy and his wife Lorna finally located the grave from the description given by an old timer in the area  '100 yards up the hill from the double gates on "Edgerton" between the Box tree and some Ironbarks there is a row of stones marking the site'.   Caroline may have aided the searchers in locating the grave site as they initially missed it and continued for a short distance before a rock concealed by grass on the track abruptly halted their progress. Fortunately the only damage done was to the drivers pride.    The GPS places the graves at  29.18.67S.    151.07.91E.  

                                   

Note.

"Edgerton" was a property of some 94000 acres just a few miles east of Ashford, NSW owned by Caroline’s daughter Edith Leichhardt, and her husband Robert Hastings Hotspur Marshall.   

 

"Frazers Creek"  was a large property adjoining "Edgerton", and just north of Ashford owned by Sampson Marshall Ripley Robertson.  (Sampson still in PO directories at "Frazers Creek" in 1889, but directories show Fletcher as  owner in 1893.) Sampson sold "Frazers Creek" in 1890 after having owned it since 1876.  It was then carrying 16000 sheep.  (JRM).

Elect. rolls 1903-1909 show Sampson as selector of "Glen Esk" near Reedy Ck. Graman. Graman is 25 klms.SW of Ashford.

It appears whole family moved to Casino prior to 1915 as many family marriages, deaths, etc., commenced in Casino in 1915.

1915-1917 rolls div.of Richmond sub.of Casino show Sampson as Farmer of "The Bend" Casino.

Where was family 1890-1902 ??

 DESCENDANTS of SAMPSON MARSHALL

 

Sampson MARSHALL

  bd. abt 1791

  dd. 17 Oct 1842, "Rosebrook", near Maitland, NSW

& Mary Ann KING

  m. 18 Jan 1813, Hatherleigh, Devon, England

| Sampson Yeoval MARSHALL

| & Eliza TURNBULL

| | Robert Hastings Hotspur MARSHALL

| |   bd. 27 Dec 1849, Oswald, Maitland District, NSW

| |   dd. 4 Jan 1931, Charleville Hospital, Qld

| | & Edith Leichardt ROBERTSON

| |   bd. 27 Oct 1845, "Plashett", Jerry's Plains, NSW

| |   dd. 7 Jul 1937, "Lyndhurst", Wyandra, Qld

| |   m. 1876, "Frazer's Creek Station", Ashford, NSW

| Purvis MARSHALL

| Harry MARSHALL

| Caroline Jessie MARSHALL

|   bd. 31 Mar 1820, Hatherleigh, Devon, England

|   dd. 14 Sep 1889, Ashford, Nr Inverell NSW

|   brd. 15 Sep 1889, "Edgerton", Ashford, nr Inverell, NSW

| & Brisbane ROBERTSON

|   bd. 1814, London, England

|   dd. Jul 1853, The Louisa Creek, near Mudgee, NSW

|   m. 4 Nov 1844, "Plashett", Jerry's Plains, NSW

| | Edith Leichardt ROBERTSON

| |   bd. 27 Oct 1845, "Plashett", Jerry's Plains, NSW

| |   dd. 7 Jul 1937, "Lyndhurst", Wyandra, Qld

| | & Robert Hastings Hotspur MARSHALL

| |   bd. 27 Dec 1849, Oswald, Maitland District, NSW

| |   dd. 4 Jan 1931, Charleville Hospital, Qld

| |   m. 1876, "Frazer's Creek Station", Ashford, NSW

| | Sampson Marshall Ripley ROBERTSON

| |   bd. 12 Dec 1847, "Plashett", Jerrys Plains, NSW

| |   dd. 21 Oct 1917, Casino, NSW

| | & Jessie Eliza MACDONALD

| |   bd. abt 1859

| |   dd. 1926, Casino, NSW

| |   m. 30 Sep 1874, "Monk Stadt", Ashford, NSW

| | Frederick J ROBERTSON

| |   bd. 12 Oct 1849, NSW

| |   dd. 1851

| | Frederick R ROBERTSON

| |   bd. 1851, Wittingham, NSW

| | Harry Oswald ROBERTSON

| |   bd. 19 Jul 1852, Oswald, Harper's Hill, NSW

| |   dd. 1884, St Leonards, Sydney, NSW

Red Arrow 2
Ramsay and Robertson Family Home Page